Issues in Language Learning

March 24, 2006

On Sandra Cisneros’s “My Name”

Filed under: Journal Musings — josephrosa @ 7:09 pm

My first blog entry and not at a loss for words. I just finished Sandra Cisneros’ “My Name” in Interactions and find myself reflecting on my own name or, I should say, names.  I read “House on Mango Street” many years ago and remember even then thinking about this excerpt from the book.  Let me explain.

I immigrated from the Azores when I was six.  My name was listed by Immigration and Naturalization as Jose Manuel Avelar Rosa.  ‘Jose’ was my father’s name, ‘Manuel’ his father, ‘Avelar’ my mother’s maiden name, and ‘Rosa’ my patrilineal (father’s side of the family) surname.  Upon naturalization I ‘Anglicized’ ‘Jose’ to ‘Joseph’ (but I rarely use ‘Manuel’).

A couple of years ago I decided to apply for dual citizenship (Portuguese-American) through the Portuguese consulate in San Francisco.  To do so I had to have an official copy of my birth certificate from the Azores.  What a surprise when I received it in the mail!

I looked at copy of the birth certificate, and then again.  They made a mistake!  They must have!  I read ‘Jose deAvelar’.  They left out my patrilineal! Well, they hadn’t.  Rosa had never been my patrilineal.  deAvelar is my legal surname (in Portugal).  It was registered as such when my father had me baptized in the village church eight days after I was born.

A friend of mine, who was also born in the Azores, and is far more knowledgable about Portuguese social and cultural patterns than I am, explained that it’s very common for parents to change or modify baptismal names and that many in her family had done the same.  I’ll never know why my father didn’t use Rosa, his surname, as my own (for he died many years ago).  My mother never even knew this for she was still bedridden when my father took me to the church.  She was just as surprised as I was when I showed her the birth certificate!  Does it matter that I’m ‘really’ Jose deAvelar and that it’s not my legal name here in the U.S.?  I’m not sure. 

When I became a citizen I considered changing my name to Joseph Francisco Avelar, ‘Francisco’ being my mother’s father’s name.  Cisneros on page 15 states:  “So your entire life is spent trying to figure out who you are and how to be happy being that person.”  ‘Being’ Joseph Avelar Rosa or Jose deAvelar would not greatly alter how I see or define myself.  Still . .

Cisneros inherited her great-grandmother’s name, Esperanza.  However, she states that, although she inherited her name, she didn’t want “to inherit her place by the window”.  The name had a negative connotation because her great-grandmother was literally abducted by her great-grandfather and possibly held against her will and, metaphorically, spent the rest of her life “by the window”.  She didn’t want to inherit a name – a legacy – that connected her to an incident that suggested a kind of ‘captivity’. But there is a deeply-felt and very positive connection to my mother’s father.

Francisco Avelar was a whaler and owned a small whaling boat.  I remember watching the six to ten men crews rowing the small boats out to the whales passing our small island during their annual migrations.  This work was very dangerous and my grandfather, being the owner of the boat, was the one who held the harpoon and who struck the first blow; a very important but dangerous task.  The boat would be dragged through the at-times turbulent waters and often boats would be overturned by the whale and lives would be lost.

Fortunately, my grandfather lived to old age.  He was known as “O Capitao”, The Captain.  He was a gentle, caring, soft-spoken man, that much I remember.  It is for these reasons – his bravery, his caring, gentle ways – that I would be honored by changing my surname from Rosa to deAvelar.

Sandra Cisneros     Sandra Cisneros

Resources

Want to know more about Sandra Cisneros?  Try these links:   A good biography of Cisneros is available at Modern American Poets. This is the Authorized Sandra Cisneros Web Site.  However, I had trouble accessing some of the internal links.  Maybe you’ll have better luck! VG: Voices from the Gaps is an excellent blog from the University of Minnesota dedicated to women artists and writers of color.  Start with “Our Project” under “Praxis” to find out more about the blog.  “Bios” under “Art” will access a page with alphabetical links to individual artists and writers.

The Azores?  Try these: Beautiful Azores (Be sure to see ‘Flores’, the island where I was born.)

1 Comment »

  1. I had a similar “What is my real name” experience.

    When I divorced, I did not immediately return to my maiden name as is the custom where I was. The choice caused so many strange situations that I eventually did return to my maiden name. Then later, when I remarried… I couldn’t bring myself to change my name again. There was the excuse of all those documents that would have to be changed and the fact that my new husband thought it a chauvinistic move to change my last name but in reality… going back to my maiden name was a very emotional thing for me. I didn’t want to change “who I was” again… ever again.

    “A rose by any other name would smell as sweet” yes, however call a rose “ragweed” and it just may have an identity crisis, shrivel up and loss its fragrance after all.

    Comment by Gwen — August 25, 2007 @ 11:53 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.